Tuesday, May 31, 2016
EOY Best Practices for Google Classroom
I wanted to share some best practices for the end of the year on Google Classroom.
First, I would highly recommend that you create a new folder in your Google Drive called, 'Archive'. Once this is completed, I would move your classroom folder into the Archive folder. This folder would be the name of your class in Google Classroom. This will help you stay organized and allow you to manage your folders in Google Drive.
Next, I would archive the class in Google Classroom. Simply go to the Classroom cards, find the class, and click on the 3 dots for the menu and click on Archive.
When you perform this task, the class will still be available for you to reuse posts and to reference, however, students will not be able to join the class. This is a great option so that you can keep the class, reference any assignments, announcements, etc and prevent you from starting from scratch next year.
Furthermore, if desired, you can delete the class from Google Classroom. This will remove the Google Classroom from your account, however, the classroom folder will still remain in your Google Drive. You would have to manually delete this folder if you want to clean up your Drive.
Caution, if you delete a Google Classroom, you will not be able to retrieve it or reuse any posts, so please be sure you are certain that you want to delete it. In addition, you may want to export any grades that you recorded in the classroom prior to performing this action.
I hope you find this information helpful.